Going the extra mile — literally

The other day I downloaded this app called “Running.” (Lacking creativity, yet straightforward). It’s a training app for people who get into running. It has intervals, for example, where you run for 3 minutes, walk for 2 minutes. I tried it for the first time a couple days ago and had a rewarding experience with it.

Eighteen minutes into the 41-minute workout, I wanted to stop running. My mind said, “You’re good, Taylor. You don’t have to keep going. You can be done with cardio for the day.” However, for the first time in a long time, my mind didn’t win; my body did. I told myself to continue running and I ran/walked until the workout on the app was complete.

friends-phoebe-rachel-running-gif

I learned that you will never regret running more, you’ll only regret running less. A gratifying feeling came over me when I completed the workout. I didn’t stop. My mind didn’t stop and my body definitely didn’t.

I want to continue winning these battles against my mind.  I want to continue competing against myself. I want to continue achieving my goals. I want to continue running. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

